to the homepage of the Clinical Division of General Psychiatry at the Medical University of Vienna’s Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy

This website provides an overview on the

  • Patient care
  • Science and research
  • Study and teaching

that we offer, as well as general information on our division.

For questions or comments please contact us at:

Ao.Univ.Prof. Dr.med. Richard Frey
Interim division head



(19.06.2020) The Division of General Psychiatry started its very own Twitter account.  For information on psychiatry research and training - follow us at: @PsychVienna  


(09.06.2020) CINP announced the winners of its CINP Rafaelsen Young Investigators Award 2020 (will be awarded at the next CINP congress in February 2021)  - we are happy to announce that Pia Baldinger-Melich and Lucie Bartova are two of its..


(07.05.2020) CINP announced the awardees of its CINP Student Encouragement Award 2020 (will be awarded at the CINP Congress in February 2021)  - congratulations to Ana Weidenauer and Arkadiusz Komorowski for being awarded this price for their..


(31.03.2020) Interesting publication by Ana Weidenauer et al. in Translational Psychiatry, principal investigator Matthaeus Willeit: Patients with schizophrenia have higher levels of dopamine and the typical symptoms of the disease have been linked..


(13.01.2020) After already serving for two terms, Gabriele Fischer, addiction expert from MedUni Vienna's Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy has been reappointed as a member of the Scientific Board of the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs..


(19.11.2019) Siegfried Kasper, former Head of the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at MedUni Vienna has been awarded the City of Vienna Prize for Medical Sciences 2019. The prize will be presented by Veronica Kaup-Hasler, Vienna City..


(11.11.19) SSiegfried Kasper, former Head of the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy at MedUni Vienna has been awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Thessaloniki for his internationally significant scientific achievements. » more


(10.04.2019) On 9 April 2019 the 5th Rudolf-Höfer-Prices were awarded int the Billrothhaus, Vienna.  Winner was Gregor Gryglewski for his publication „Spatial analysis and high resolution mapping of the human whole-brain transcriptome for..


 (21.03.2016)  If you are interested in our study and research programmes you will find more information » here


If you would like to give us a donation to support our research work, please get in touch with us at gen-psychiatry@meduniwien.ac.at to receive further information. » more  (content is only available in German)